Head of Year 8: Mrs R Cox

Our Mission and Aims

Our mission is to provide the best possible learning experiences for all our Year 8 students so that they can achieve their full potential both academically and personally. We provide a caring and safe environment where each student feels happy and proud to achieve her absolute best at each step of her school journey.

We encourage all Year 8 students to really get involved with school life at WGS and it is pleasing when they take part in activities such as Football Club, Echo Vocal Group and Kinisi Dance Club.

Every girl will contribute to the running of the school through the office ambassador role and each student is expected to join and take part in at least one club or extra-curricular activity this year. Students will also take part in some aspect of preparing for and/or performing for their form group assembly. There is so much to get involved with and to choose from.

Celebrating Success

Rewards for excellent attendance and punctuality will be celebrated in Year 8 assemblies with the award of certificates. The form group with the highest attendance will win and be able to display the Year 8 Attendance Cup in their form room each term. There will be recognition of positive contributions to school life throughout Year 8 and each term individual prizes will be awarded for students for this achievement. Prizes will be awarded regularly for exceptional office ambassadors and Diary of the Day submissions in each form group.

Got something to celebrate? Want to see your name published here? Let your form tutor or Mrs Cox know about your achievement so that we can celebrate your success.

Year 8 Links

Year 8 Summer Homework Project
Year 8 students worked hard over the summer to complete their projects on Inspirational Women. Click the link below to look through some of their work
Inspirational Women Project Work

Keep up to date with competition details and results on our Interhouse Competitions page

Year 8 Dates

Currently no dates

Positions of Responsibility

Form Group Form Captain Sports Captain Student Council Representative Press Officer
8A Beth Newton Jessica Piekarska Tia Harwood Ava Harding
8C Ellie Taylor Annalise Pincott Millie James Angelica Ezeugwu
8F Austiana Sandy Ella Fowler Kyra Roach Kyra Roach
8J Kallie Everard Teigan Pinder Megan Gartland Ellie Wright
8N Daisy Black Katelyn Cole
Georgie Ross
Damisola Dada Stephanie Whyte
8P Lois Allen Olivia Clarke Evie-Laine Amoa Evie-Laine Amoa

Charity Representatives have been appointed as follows:

8A:  Charley-Louise England-Hazel
8C:  Elizabeth Howe
8F:  Thierry Anderson
8J:  Besma Majid
8N:  Ella Murray
8P:  Megan Payne

Anti-Bullying Representatives have been appointed as follows:

8A:  TBA
8C:  Erin Parish
8F:  Cherry-Mae Few
8J:  Zoe Adsley
8N:  Kaitlin Bird and Victoria Skinner
8P:  Georgia Clay

Eco-Warriors have been appointed as follows:

8A:  Lacey Pearce, Isabella Jerome, Holly Matthews and Zaima Sikandar
8C:  Ashleigh Buckland, Kaitlyn Cook, Ruby Davies and Skye Dewey
8F:  Lucy Haywood, Charlotte Masters, Kaci Russell and Mia Ward
8J:  Chloe Ellis and Ellie Andrews
8N:  Ellie-May Millard, Lucy Malloy and Kaitlynn O’Connor
8P:  Lily-Ann Cox, Lauren Adams, Freya Crow and Lacey Taylor

Please see ADMISSIONS if you wish for your daughter to enter into Year 8